## **CCPIO Presidents, Historic Listing**

(Last revised 30 January 2024)

2001-2002 > Ron Keefover, Kansas Supreme Court<sup>1</sup>

2002-2003 > Sally Rankin, Maryland Supreme Court

2003-2004 > Tom Darr, Pennsylvania Administrative Office of the Courts

2004-2005 > J.W. Brown, Maricopa County (AZ) Superior Court<sup>2</sup>

2006-2007 > David Sellers, United States Administrative Office of the Courts

2008-2009 > Joan Kenney, Massachusetts Supreme Court

2010-2011 > Kathy Arberg, Supreme Court of the United States

2012-2013 > Karen Salaz, 19th Judicial District, (Greely) Colorado

2013-May 2014 > John Kostorouros, Minnesota Supreme Court<sup>3</sup>

May 2014-November 2015 > Nancy Volmer, Utah Supreme Court<sup>4</sup>

November 2015-December 2017 > Beth Riggert, Supreme Court of Missouri<sup>5</sup>

January 2018-December 2019 > Leah Gurowitz, District of Columbia Superior Court

January 2020-December 2021 > Kathryn Dolan, Indiana Supreme Court

January 2022-December 2023 > Darren Toms, Cuyahoga County (OH) Court of Common Pleas

January 2024-present > Sean O'Sullivan, Delaware Judicial Branch<sup>6</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Ron was a founding member of CCPIO. The steering committee recommending CCPIO organize formally was comprised of Ron along with Kathy Arberg, Supreme Court of the United States; John MacDonald, Arizona Supreme Court; Marcia Skolnik, Los Angeles Superior Court; Tracy Synan, Supreme Court of Missouri; and three staff from the National Center for State Courts (all positions were as of the steering committee's November 1998 formation in Baltimore.

See Keefover, Ron, "A History of the Conference of Court Public Information Officers," CCPIO website, https://ccpio.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/Opperman-Tribute-CCPIO-History-8-2913.pdf (last accessed January 18, 2022). The first officers of CCPIO took office in November 2001 during CCPIO's annual meeting in Memphis. *Id*.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Terms witched to end at the calendar year rather than during the annual meeting and subsequently became two years rather than one in length.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> John retired before his two-year term in office expired.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Nancy was president elect and became president upon the resignation of John Kostouros as president. Nancy resigned her position as CCPIO president early, upon her resignation from the court.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Beth was president elect and became president upon the resignation of Nancy Volmer as president.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> President elect is Paul Flemming of the Florida Supreme Court.